Calendar of Events

Sun 06.15.2014

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour - Adam Yarinsky, FAIA

AIA CES: 1 LU | 1 HSW

When: 5:15 PM - 6:45 PM SUNDAY, JUNE 15

Where: AIANY Tours   

FEATURED GUIDE:
Adam Yarinsky, FAIA, Partner, Architecture Research Office (ARO), Participant in MoMA’s Rising Currents, Co-author of On the Water: Palisades Bay

As a Featured Guide, Adam Yarinsky, FAIA, will join the AIANY boat tour to explore New York Harbor’s magnificent Upper Bay. As part of interdisciplinary teams, ARO’s designs, Greenwich South and An Urban Ground, propose ecological infrastructure to invite, not resist, water’s productive role while absorbing storm surge and mitigating sea level rise. Those and other waterfront resiliency planning ideals, exhibited by teams participating in MoMa’s Rising Currents, will be reviewed as the Yacht Manhattan visits completed and under construction parks as well as historic engineering and infrastructure sites along the Harbor’s edges.

 

With AIANY Around Manhattan host guide, Arthur Platt AIA, the 1.5 hr. tour will also study recent architecture in southern Manhattan and along Brooklyn’s transforming industrial edge.
An exploration of the estuary’s “working waterfront”, unfamiliar to many NYC inhabitants, will be a tour highlight on this summer evening’s cruise aboard Classic Harbor Line’s beautiful 1920’s style yacht Manhattan.

Price: $46 / $32 students
AIA members enter code “AIAB5” for $5 discount
For tickets and location information please visit: http://www.zerve.com/SailNYC/AIAGuide

This program is related to the exhibition Open to the Public: Civic Space Now, on view from June 12 through September 6, 2014. 

Related Programing

Exhibition Opening
Thursday, June 12, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Open to The Public Symposium
Saturday, June 14, 9:30 am - 6:30 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour - Adam Yarkinsky, FAIA
Sunday, June 15, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Exhibition Open House
Monday, June 16, 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Modern Architecture in the West Village and Meatpacking District
Saturday, June 21, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour -  Signe Nielsen FASLA
Sunday, June 22, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Roosevelt Island: 1970s “New Town in Town” To FDR Four Freedoms Park (Walking Tour)
Saturday, June 28, 11 am - 1:30 pm

Public Space: Community and Privacy
Wednesday, July 2, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

NYU & Washington Square: Changing Strategies of Growth and Design
Saturday, July 5, 11:00 am - 1:30 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: Crosstown Section: 53rd ST. (Approx.) East To West (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 12,10:30 am -1:00 pm

West Side Story: Evolution of Lincoln Center (Walking Tour)
Thursday, July 19, 10 am - 11:30 am

Who Pays For Public Space?
Thursday, July 24, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

“Remembering The Future”: Architecture at The 1964/65 New York World's Fair (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 26, 11:00 am
- 1:00 pm

9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center - Architecture, Urban Planning and the History of the New and Original WTC (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 9, 11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: East 42nd St. United Nations and Vicinity (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 16,
10:30 am - 1:00 pm

New York's Civic Center: History of Its Urban Development & Architecture (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 23,
10:30 am - 12:30 pm

The High Line, Hudson River Park and New Architecture in West Chelsea and The Far West Village
Saturday, August 30, 10:30 - 1:30 pm

The Future of Public Space
Friday, September 5:00 pm, 6 pm - 8 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: The Park Avenue Corridor (Walking Tour)
Saturday, September 6, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm


 

CFA

The Center for Architecture
536 LaGuardia Place
NY, NY 10012
(212) 683-0023
info@aiany.org

Gallery Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 8pm
Sat: 11am to 5pm

Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 5pm