Calendar of Events

Sat 06.21.2014

Modern Architecture and Adaptive Re-Use in the West Village and Meatpacking District

AIA CES: 2LU | 2 HSW

When: 10:30 AM - 1:00 PM SATURDAY, JUNE 21

Where: AIANY Tours   

Meet at the NE corner of 9th Ave. & 17th St.

Discover lesser-known examples of Modern architecture and some stunning new buildings in the West Village and Meatpacking District. Included are buildings designed by Joseph Urban, Albert Ledner, Edgar Tafel, Paul Rudolph, Kohn Pedersen Fox, SHoP, SOM and others.

Cost:
$20 for Members
$30 for Non-Members
Please Purchase a ticket HERE
Tour is Limited to 15 (waiting list available)

Organized by: AIANY Architecture Tour Committee

Walk ups cannot be guaranteed a spot on tours – please use the sign up link above for waitlist if the tour is sold out

AIANY Chapter, and AIANY’s Architecture Tour Committee and its tour guides will not be held liable and assume no responsibility for any injury or loss incurred by participants in these programs.

This program is related to the exhibition Open to the Public: Civic Space Now, on view from June 12 through September 6, 2014 presented in conjunction with  The Lance Jay Brown, FAIA, AIANY Chapter 2014 pres­i­den­tial theme “Civic Spirit: Civic Vision

Related Programing

Exhibition Opening
Thursday, June 12, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Open to The Public Symposium
Saturday, June 14, 9:30 am - 6:30 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour - Adam Yarkinsky, FAIA
Sunday, June 15, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Exhibition Open House
Monday, June 16, 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Modern Architecture and Adaptive Re-Use in the West Village and Meatpacking District
Saturday, June 21, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour -  Signe Nielsen FASLA
Sunday, June 22, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Roosevelt Island: 1970s “New Town in Town” To FDR Four Freedoms Park (Walking Tour)
Saturday, June 28, 11 am - 1:30 pm

Public Space: Community and Privacy
Wednesday, July 2, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

NYU & Washington Square: Changing Strategies of Growth and Design
Saturday, July 5, 11:00 am - 1:30 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: Crosstown Section: 53rd ST. (Approx.) East To West (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 12,10:30 am -1:00 pm

West Side Story: Evolution of Lincoln Center (Walking Tour)
Thursday, July 19, 10 am - 11:30 am

Who Pays For Public Space?
Thursday, July 24, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

“Remembering The Future”: Architecture at The 1964/65 New York World's Fair (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 26, 11:00 am
- 1:00 pm

9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center - Architecture, Urban Planning and the History of the New and Original WTC (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 9, 11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: East 42nd St. United Nations and Vicinity (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 16,
10:30 am - 1:00 pm

New York's Civic Center: History of Its Urban Development & Architecture (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 23,
10:30 am - 12:30 pm

The High Line, Hudson River Park and New Architecture in West Chelsea and The Far West Village
Saturday, August 30, 10:30 - 1:30 pm

The Future of Public Space
Friday, September 5:00 pm, 6 pm - 8 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: The Park Avenue Corridor (Walking Tour)
Saturday, September 6, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

CFA

The Center for Architecture
536 LaGuardia Place
NY, NY 10012
(212) 683-0023
info@aiany.org

Gallery Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 8pm
Sat: 11am to 5pm

Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 5pm