Calendar of Events

Sat 08.30.2014

The High Line, Hudson River Park and New Architecture in West Chelsea and the Far West Village

AIA CES: 2.5 LU | 2.5 HSW

When: 10:30 AM - 1:00 PM SATURDAY, AUGUST 30

Where: AIANY Tours   

View a stunning variety of new architecture in West Chelsea and the Far West Village, as well as portions of Hudson River Park and the innovative design of the High Line, around which these new buildings are clustered. Included are buildings designed by Frank Gehry, Jean Nouvel, Shigeru Ban, Neil Denari, Annabelle Selldorf, Ennead Architects, Richard Meier and others.

The tour will meet at the east end of Pier 62 (opposite West 22 St.), adjacent to the north entrance of Chelsea Piers and ‘Wichcraft

Tours will run rain or shine.

Tour is Limited to 15 (Waiting List available)

Price:
$20 for Members
$30 for Non-Members
Register Here

Organized by: AIANY Architecture Tour Committee

AIANY Chapter, and AIANY’s Architectural Tour Committee and its tour guides will not be held liable and assume no responsibility for any injury or loss incurred by participants in these programs.

This program is related to the exhibition Open to the Public: Civic Space Now, on view from June 12 through September 6, 2014. 

Related Programing

Exhibition Opening
Thursday, June 12, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Open to The Public Symposium
Saturday, June 14, 9:30 am - 6:30 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour - Adam Yarkinsky, FAIA
Sunday, June 15, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Exhibition Open House
Monday, June 16, 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Modern Architecture in the West Village and Meatpacking District
Saturday, June 21, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour -  Signe Nielsen FASLA
Sunday, June 22, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Roosevelt Island: 1970s “New Town in Town” To FDR Four Freedoms Park (Walking Tour)
Saturday, June 28, 11 am - 1:30 pm

Public Space: Community and Privacy
Wednesday, July 2, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

NYU & Washington Square: Changing Strategies of Growth and Design
Saturday, July 5, 11:00 am - 1:30 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: Crosstown Section: 53rd ST. (Approx.) East To West (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 12,10:30 am -1:00 pm

West Side Story: Evolution of Lincoln Center (Walking Tour)
Thursday, July 19, 10 am - 11:30 am

Who Pays For Public Space?
Thursday, July 24, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

“Remembering The Future”: Architecture at The 1964/65 New York World's Fair (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 26, 11:00 am
- 1:00 pm

9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center - Architecture, Urban Planning and the History of the New and Original WTC (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 9, 11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: East 42nd St. United Nations and Vicinity (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 16,
10:30 am - 1:00 pm

New York's Civic Center: History of Its Urban Development & Architecture (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 23,
10:30 am - 12:30 pm

The High Line, Hudson River Park and New Architecture in West Chelsea and The Far West Village
Saturday, August 30, 10:30 - 1:30 pm

The Future of Public Space
Friday, September 5:00 pm, 6 pm - 8 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: The Park Avenue Corridor (Walking Tour)
Saturday, September 6, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

CFA

The Center for Architecture
536 LaGuardia Place
NY, NY 10012
(212) 683-0023
info@aiany.org

Gallery Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 8pm
Sat: 11am to 5pm

Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 5pm