Calendar of Events

Thu 07.24.2014

Who Pays for Public Space?

AIA CES: 1.5 LU | 1.5 LA PDH

When: 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM THURSDAY, JULY 24

Where: At The Center   

We are witnessing the rollout of new and improved public spaces around the five boroughs of New York. The work of the previous administration got the ball rolling in claiming roadways for pedestrian use, including Broadway Boulevard and Times Square. The DOT Plaza Program, continued POPS, greenways from the Highline to Queensway, and others all confirm a growing interest in the value of open space. This said, who pays for all this? Who initiates and raises capital and financing and how is maintenance built into the many different configurations described above? These are the questions the panel will address.

This panel will be presented in conjunction with the Open to the Public: Civic Space Now exhibition at the Center for Architecture, on view from June 12 - September 6, 2014 and is an initiative of the Lance Jay Brown, FAIA, 2014 Presidential theme: ‘Civic Spirit:Civic Vision.’

Speakers:
Diana Balmori, Ph.D., FASLA, IFLA, Founder, Balmori Associates
Jerold Kayden, Professor of Urban Planning and Design, Harvard University Graduate School of Design
Emily Weidenhof, NYC Plaza Program Director, NYC Department of Transportation 

Moderator: 
John Shapiro, Chair, Pratt Institute Graduate Center for Planning and the Environment

Organized by: Center for Architecture

Price: Free for AIA members and students with valid student ID; $10 for non-members

Watch the video of this program here.


RELATED PROGRAMMING

Exhibition Opening
Thursday, June 12, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Open to The Public Symposium
Saturday, June 14, 9:00 am - 6:30 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour - Adam Yarkinsky, FAIA 
Sunday, June 15, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Exhibition Open House
Monday, June 16, 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Modern Architecture in the West Village and Meatpacking District
Saturday, June 21, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

AIANY Featured Guide Boat Tour -  Signe Nielsen FASLA
Sunday, June 22, 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm

Roosevelt Island: 1970s “New Town in Town” To FDR Four Freedoms Park (Walking Tour)
Saturday, June 28, 11 am - 1:30 pm

Public Space: Community and Privacy
Wednesday, July 2, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

NYU & Washington Square: Changing Strategies of Growth and Design
Saturday, July 5, 11:00 am - 1:30 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: Crosstown Section: 53rd ST. (Approx.) East To West (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 12,10:30 am -1:00 pm

West Side Story: Evolution of Lincoln Center (Walking Tour)
Thursday, July 19, 10 am - 11:30 am 

Who Pays For Public Space?
Thursday, July 24, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

“Remembering The Future”: Architecture at The 1964/65 New York World's Fair (Walking Tour)
Saturday, July 26, 11:00 am 
- 1:00 pm

9/11 Memorial and World Trade Center - Architecture, Urban Planning and the History of the New and Original WTC (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 9, 11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: East 42nd St. United Nations and Vicinity (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 16,
 10:30 am - 1:00 pm

New York's Civic Center: History of Its Urban Development & Architecture (Walking Tour)
Saturday, August 23,
 10:30 am - 12:30 pm

The High Line, Hudson River Park and New Architecture in West Chelsea and The Far West Village
Saturday, August 30, 10:30 am - 1:30 pm

The Future of Public Space
Friday, September 5, 6 pm - 8 pm

Midtown Manhattan-Modernism Evolving: The Park Avenue Corridor (Walking Tour)
Saturday, September 6, 10:30 am - 1:00 pm 

 


First Name*:

Last Name*:

Title:

Company:

Phone:

Email*:

Note:


export vCalendar
CFA

The Center for Architecture
536 LaGuardia Place
NY, NY 10012
(212) 683-0023
info@aiany.org

Gallery Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 8pm
Sat: 11am to 5pm

Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 5pm