Current Exhibitions

April 18 - June 22, 2013

2013 Design Awards

2013 Design Awards features 42 winning projects in Architecture, Interiors, Projects, and Urban Design. It will be on view through May 31, 2013.

AIA New York’s annual Design Awards Program recognizes outstanding architectural design by New York City architects and work in New York City by registered architects practicing anywhere in the world. The purpose of the awards program is to honor the architects, clients, and consultants who have achieved design excellence. Awards are given in four categories: Architecture, Interiors,
Projects, and Urban Design. Each category is reviewed by an internationally-prominent three-person jury. Jurors establish criteria, evaluate excellence, and determine the
awards given for Honor and Merit.

Exhibition design by Kokoro & Moi
Exhibition and related programs are organized by the AIA New York Chapter.

Ann M. Beha, FAIA
Bruce Kuwabara, FAIA
Lawrence Scarpa, FAIA

Amanda Levete
Andrew Wells, FAIA LEEP AP
Clive Wilkinson, FAIA RIBA

Michelle Addington
Marlon Blackwell, FAIA
Eric Höweler, AIA LEEP AP

David Coomes
Kathryn Gustafson, PLA ASLA Hon. FRIBA
Alex Krieger, FAIA

Honors and Awards Luncheon
Celebrate design excellence at the AIA New York Chapter’s Honors & Awards Luncheon, to be held April 17, 2013 at Cipriani Wall Street. The Luncheon will fete the recipients of the 2013 AIANY Design Awards, Medal of Honor, Award of Merit, and the Stephen A. Kliment Oculus Award. In addition to honoring the award winners, the Luncheon will serve as an important fundraiser for AIANY, the Center for Architecture and our ongoing mission to show that design matters. For more information about the Honors and Awards Luncheon, visit or contact Emma Haberman at or 212-358-6108.

Special thanks to our sponsors:


Albanese Organization
Architectural Record
Bloomberg Philanthropies
The City University of New York
Desai Chia Architecture PC
Ennead Architects LLP
F.J. Sciame Construction Co., Inc.
Forest City Ratner Companies
FXFOWLE Architects LLP
The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.
Hudson Yards – Related/Oxford
Ibex Construction
Ingram, Yuzek, Gainen, Carroll & Bertolotti LLP
JFK&M Consulting Group
Langan Engineering & Environmental Services PC
Lutron Electronics, Inc.
Mancini Duffy | TSC
MechoSystems, Inc.
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
PKSB Architects PC
Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
Rudin Management Company, Inc.
Samoo Architecture PC
SHoP Architects
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Stephen B. Jacobs Group, PC
Studio Daniel Libeskind
STV Incorporated
Syska Hennessy Group, Inc.
Thornton Tomasetti
Tishman Speyer
Turner Construction Company
WSP Flack+Kurtz
Zetlin & De Chiara LLP

Allied Works Architecture
Cerami & Associates
Consolidated Edison
COOKFOX Architects
Douglaston Development
Gale International
Jaklitsch/Gardner Architects
Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Permasteelisa North America
Platt Byard Dovell White Architects
Qwest Contracting
Ricci Greene Associates
Shawmut Design and Construction
Vanguard Construction & Development Co., Inc.

List as of April 9, 2013.

Opening Reception
Thursday, April 18, 2013, 6-8pm

2013 Design Awards - Honor Awards Panel Discussion
Tuesday, May 7, 2013, 6-8pm

back to exhibitions list


The Center for Architecture
536 LaGuardia Place
NY, NY 10012
(212) 683-0023

Gallery Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 8pm
Sat: 11am to 5pm

Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 5pm